Friday, 28 February 2014

Winter Trees

Much as I enjoy seeing trees in full leaf there is something very attractive about their stark winter silhouettes. These three rooks look very much at home here.

Thursday, 27 February 2014

Westward House

This is rather imposing private residence has something akin to a turret and an orangery as part of its design, very elegant.

Wednesday, 26 February 2014

G is for Graffiti

This is a shelter on a playing field near a school. Kids gather in here on evenings, when it is raining etc. The inside is covered in graffiti but the outside is kept clean.

Tuesday, 25 February 2014

Hub Station

York bike rescue project do up old bikes and sell them on. This is their showroom window, as well as refurbished bikes they service and repair bikes and sell cycle accessories. They also really like pink as you will see if you click on the link!

Monday, 24 February 2014

No railings

Commuters on their way to and from the station walk between the cholera burial ground and the city walls. Both those curbs have many holes where railings used to be seated. This view must have looked very different with a row of metal railings either side of the pavement.

Sunday, 23 February 2014

Street Lights

The street light were still shining as I took an early morning walk through the city.

Saturday, 22 February 2014

River View

Early morning view of the River Ouse this week. Those railings are usually a good way back from the edge of the water.

Friday, 21 February 2014

Chicken Run

They all look very innocent now but as we walked across the hillside towards this farm I am sure we saw these hens tearing around the fields on the quad bike.......

Thursday, 20 February 2014

No Way!

On my way to the station this week I thought I would take a look at the River Ouse, however my vantage point was closed off in anticipation of the river rising ever higher.

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

F is for Fountain

No one is taking much notice of the fountains in Exhibition Square at the moment. We have all seen far too much water!

Tuesday, 18 February 2014

Hospitium in Winter

A winter view of the Hospitium from the Museum Gardens

Monday, 17 February 2014


Postbox near The Boer War Memorial Garden, with York Minster on the left and the spire of All Saints church Goodramgate in the distance.

Sunday, 16 February 2014


Wet streets and windy days, still we are forecast a sunny day today. Here's hoping we have seen the last of the rain for a few days.

Saturday, 15 February 2014

John Cabot

Visited Bristol docks recently. I have always liked this statue of John Cabot, it is full of character and he looks like he cannot wait to set sail again. He sailed from Bristol and sighted North America in 1497, no one is quite sure where but New-found-land is the name he gave to his discovery.

Friday, 14 February 2014

On the Up

Compare the River Ouse today with last Sunday when I was standing by the furthest black posts. We are scheduled more rain tomorrow, and wind ................

Thursday, 13 February 2014

Animal Tiles

Part of the floor in All Saints Church North Street, the stag and cross symbols I can understand. Any thoughts on the circular 'railway track'?

Wednesday, 12 February 2014


Close up on one of the statues from All Saints Church. Not sure I recall seeing a statue of a nun before.

Tuesday, 11 February 2014

All Saints

Lots of statues and angels scattered around in All Saints Church on North Street.

Monday, 10 February 2014


These are the first snowdrops I have seen this year, they seem to have sprung up overnight.

Sunday, 9 February 2014

Watching the River Rise

Everyone is keeping an eye on the river at the moment....................

Saturday, 8 February 2014


The York Coat of Arms contains five lions, and it is a symbol that can be seen on many door knockers in the city. No surprise then to find four fine stone examples of the beasts holding up a seat under a city centre sundial.

Friday, 7 February 2014


Not much call for a sundial at present but this one is rather fine. It can be found outside the lovely Tudor built St William's College. Come back tomorrow for a closer look at those lions

Thursday, 6 February 2014


This wickerwork daffodil is the nearest we have to the real thing at the moment, but I have seen plenty of leaf spikes starting to show above ground recently.

Wednesday, 5 February 2014

River Wreckage

The high tides and some strong winds have brought a number of trees floating down the River Ouse. These bits and pieces have become trapped on the wooden jetty designed to prevent tree trunks hitting Scarborough railway bridge.

Tuesday, 4 February 2014

Dragonfly #2

A few weeks ago I featured a Dragonfly made from recycled material. This one looks a little more purpose made and can be found on the wall of Terrington Primary School.

Monday, 3 February 2014

Village Pump

The village pump in Terrington no longer works but looks very smartly painted.

Sunday, 2 February 2014

All Saints

This is All Saints church Terrington. It can trace its history back to Saxon times.

Saturday, 1 February 2014


Two entries for the price of one today. This impressive red gate is the entrance to York Minster Stone Yard. It is next door to the Minster choir school hence the notice for chorister audition day for those children wishing to enter York Minster choir.
For more entrances see CDP theme day
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...