Friday, 31 January 2014

Bird Feeders

This riverside terrace house has placed a number of bird feeders in their tree. Hope they get a good selection of feathered visitors this winter.

Thursday, 30 January 2014

January Flowers

The mild winter weather continues, this could almost be spring and was taken last week.

Wednesday, 29 January 2014

Muddy Walk

Down amongst the Weeping Willows the riverside path is getting very muddy.

Tuesday, 28 January 2014

Theatre Box Office

The panto is still on at The Theatre Royal for another couple of weeks. Following after is Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks, quite a contrast!

Monday, 27 January 2014

Double Box

This double post box used to separate first and second class post, now it is stamped or franked mail. The tower behind is Bootham Bar Postern Tower.

Sunday, 26 January 2014

Teapot Cottage

This is the rather fine gate to a cottage called, if I remember rightly, Teapot Cottage!

Saturday, 25 January 2014

Riverside Walk

Part of the riverside walk along the Ouse between Lendal and Ouse Bridges. A typical York mix of very old and not so old buildings.

Friday, 24 January 2014

Working hard in the Library

There are a number of PCs available for use in the Public Library. I was amused by how many of them were being used for crushing candies or similar as I walked by recently.

Thursday, 23 January 2014

York Minster Piazza

The Emperor Constantine surveys the recently completed and nearly empty Piazza outside the south transept of York Minster. Just imagine, York with a Piazza!

Wednesday, 22 January 2014

B is for Black-headed Gulls Beside the River

These Black-headed Gulls are perched on what is left of the bank as the river rises once again.

Tuesday, 21 January 2014

A Taste of Summer

Tucked away behind a building in the city is this reminder of summer.

Monday, 20 January 2014


If any of you saw Death Comes to Pemberley at Christmas you might recognise this street, minus the cars, furniture and scaffolding of course.

Sunday, 19 January 2014

Hello Ducky!

Having read the sign I have to agree. Phil's Street Art is still on the go, you can read an interview with Phil here. Sorry I missed the snails.

Saturday, 18 January 2014

Love Lock or Eyesore?

In Amsterdam last year I noticed a number of bridges had so called 'love locks' attached. Whilst individually they might seem romantic collectively they looked like urban vandalism. I was sorry to see a bridge in York had started to acquire similar locks, ironically it is in the least romantic location I could think of in the city.

Friday, 17 January 2014


York City Art Gallery is in the midst of an 8 million pound refurbishment. The posters outside state that it is transforming, I keep expecting to see a large yellow car parked here one day.......

Thursday, 16 January 2014


Red bike, red boats red hand print and red roses on the bridge.

Wednesday, 15 January 2014

Remains of the Day

Well remains of the night actually, I found this broken glass on a wall in the city in early January. A casualty of the New Years Eve celebrations I imagine!

Tuesday, 14 January 2014

Primitive Methodist

I have walked past this church hundreds of times but until I looked at this picture I had no idea it was named after John Petty. He was a religious writer, educator and Primitive Methodist minister. The church is known locally as Monkgate Methodist.

Monday, 13 January 2014


On a recent trip to London I visited Camberly Street Gardens and was very impressed by this giant dragonfly made from discarded yoghurt pots, bits of scrap metal and an obsolete CD player.

Sunday, 12 January 2014

Blue Door

Looks like these steps might be a challenge after a trip to the pub!

Saturday, 11 January 2014

Weeping Willow #2

The willows in Thursdays post were a part of this impressive line up. They will leave a sad looking gap.

Friday, 10 January 2014

Goose Wing

The sound of geese honking overhead made me look up, and as I was holding my camera this shot was a reflex action!
Taking part in Skywatch Friday

Thursday, 9 January 2014

Weeping Willow

These weeping willows by the side of the River Foss look to have suffered in the recent windy weather.

Wednesday, 8 January 2014


Before                                   After

The Coat of Arms of Charles I (1625-49) above the doorway of Kings Manor has been cleaned repainted and re-guilded. It shows the Royal Crown above St George's flag, Lion, and red rose for England, and St Andrew's saltire, Unicorn, and thistle for Scotland. It also has the Irish harp and French Fleur-de-Lis, plus a back-to-front N in mon!

Tuesday, 7 January 2014

No Bins!

Well the first thing I noticed was no refuse bins outside Kings Manor! These usually appear whenever I pass by with my camera. However there is more to see over the door and that is worth a look tomorrow surely........

Monday, 6 January 2014

Through the Arch

Glancing through the 'side door' of Queen Margaret's arch as I walked past something new caught my eye. Come back tomorrow for a closer look.......

Sunday, 5 January 2014

Proud Father

On my way home this week I spotted this sign on the side of a joinery workshop.

Saturday, 4 January 2014

Cafe Concerto

A poster from the wall of Cafe Concerto, a pleasant place for a meal or a quick cuppa close by York Minster.

Friday, 3 January 2014

Temple of the Four Winds

Still at Castle Howard this is the Temple of the Four Winds, a room used for reading and entertaining with impressive views over the estate. I can confirm that one of the four winds was certainly blowing on our visit here!

Thursday, 2 January 2014


Walking through the grounds of the Castle Howard estate several garden building stand out. One is the Mausoleum where many generations of the Howard family are buried.

Wednesday, 1 January 2014

Happy New Year

My favourite image from Ginnels Gates and Ghosts during the last 12 months, mainly because it took me many shots to get it looking as I wanted! Wishing you all a Happy and Healthy New Year for 2014, and looking forward to seeing your view on the world.
Taking part in CDP theme day.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...