Tuesday, 31 December 2013

Last Cat of 2013

Even a temporary Christmas stall has taken the trouble to decorate the roof with a 'York' cat.

Monday, 30 December 2013

The Eagle Lectern

The base of the lectern in the choir of York Minster. It was presented to the Minster in 1686 and features a great eagle which holds the bible up on its wings.

Sunday, 29 December 2013

Old Mill No 2

This mill stone is set by the River Derwent in East Ayton, and may even have been used in the Mill that you can see in the background.

Saturday, 28 December 2013

Keep warm

Thank goodness she has got her scarf on, it is getting pretty cold.

Friday, 27 December 2013

Marygate Lane

This lovely old lane is in the city centre but tucked away out of sight and is unlikely to be discovered by the casual visitor as there are no shops nearby.

Thursday, 26 December 2013

Brisk Walk

Boxing Day morning, time for a brisk stroll in the Yorkshire countryside to clear the Christmas cobwebs away.

Wednesday, 25 December 2013

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas to all visitors to Ginnels Gates and Ghosts.

Tuesday, 24 December 2013

Christmas Knits

In the hospital where I work we have lots of knitted 'paper chains' which look great. We also have this knitted Christmas scene which I notice today has been locked behind a perspex sheet. Perhaps they went walkabout last night!

Monday, 23 December 2013

Lake View

We are forecast to have some wild weather today so I thought I would post a reminder of summer. Student accommodation at York University with a lakeside view.

Sunday, 22 December 2013


I think for once I am lost for words..................

Saturday, 21 December 2013

Old Mill

I happened upon this derelict mill a few miles from York and took a quick shot with the phone just before the sunlight vanished for the day.

Friday, 20 December 2013


Not something associated with Christmas but a great subject for an ice sculpture.

Thursday, 19 December 2013


Christmas shoppers amongst the ice sculptures at the Festival of the Angels

Wednesday, 18 December 2013

It's Snowing!

Well not really, the snow machine was in action in Little Stonegate for the Festival of the Angels last weekend. Come back tomorrow and Friday for ice sculptures.

Tuesday, 17 December 2013


This rather fine looking boat was moored up in the centre of York at the weekend. The owner is just popping out for his lunch.

Monday, 16 December 2013

Lost Balloon

Unusual to see this type of street art in York, at first glance I saw a lost balloon, now I am not so sure...

Sunday, 15 December 2013

Christmas paddle

These canoeist paddled past a couple of weeks ago as I walked along the Ouse. At least one of the boats had a fully decorated Christmas tree on board and most of the others had Santa hats or tinsel. No camera to hand sadly except on the phone.

Saturday, 14 December 2013

Grass verge

This immaculate green sward made me stop and take a closer look, yup it is plastic grass.

Friday, 13 December 2013

All Aboard

All the luggage trolleys have their own spot marked out on the station platform so they are in the 'right' place when the train arrives. An early example of LEAN thinking!

Thursday, 12 December 2013

Art of Conversation

So, would you be tempted by this sign to go into the pub for a pint?

Wednesday, 11 December 2013

New Busker

There is a new busker in town, mighty colourful they are too!

Tuesday, 10 December 2013

Lilac Welcome

Someone likes lilac, and so do I hence this picture!

Monday, 9 December 2013

Flame Sculpture

Take one tall metal sculpture, add a few flaming torches and the effect is rather striking.

Sunday, 8 December 2013

School Clock

This is the primary school clock in the village of New Earswick. Built in 1912 this school has been educating the youngsters of the area for over 100 years. The school master has a distinctly Edwardian look to him in his hat and breeches, no security cameras needed in his day.

Saturday, 7 December 2013


Teasels are an important winter food source for some of our wild birds, particularly the Goldfinch, and for this reason are encouraged to grow in urban nature reserves

Friday, 6 December 2013

Heading South

This is where I shall be this morning, heading out of York station on the London train.

Thursday, 5 December 2013

Last of Autumn

Just a couple of weeks ago the Hospitium was surrounded by autumn colour. Not much is known about the original purpose of this building. It is close to the River Ouse so could have been a warehouse for St Mary's Abbey, or even a guest house. Nowadays it is popular wedding venue.

Wednesday, 4 December 2013

Nightime Great Gathering

Another shot of the Great Gathering at night. I loaded a large file so you can take a closer look if you wish. This shows L to R Sir Nigel Gresley, Dweight D Eisenhower, Union of South Africa and Bittern, plus a gaggle of admirers.

Tuesday, 3 December 2013

Fishergate Bar

Fishergate Bar used to be open to all traffic, now it is reserved for bicycles and pedestrians (not only those with small children in tow) only.

Monday, 2 December 2013

Summer Swan

A view of The Swan from the city walls taken earlier this year. The place to go for a well kept pint of Timothy Taylors Landlord in the lovely 1930's interior.

Sunday, 1 December 2013

Three Essentials

Three essentials in a row in Tadcaster, Undertaker, Post Office and Coffee Shop. This PO is still open and providing a community service where so many have closed recently. Thankfully I have never required the services of this undertaker although I am sure the same applies to them. I can recommend The Tea Lounge for quick and friendly service, plus delicious cakes.

Saturday, 30 November 2013

Winter Stores

This farm has collected in the winter stores, although the stack looks uncharacteristically precarious. 

Friday, 29 November 2013

Winter Farm Yard

Took a walk through this very muddy farm yard recently. It must be like a skating rink once the really cold weather arrives.

Thursday, 28 November 2013

Well it beats gnomes....

Sitting outside the house in yesterdays picture was this rather unconventional garden ornament....

Wednesday, 27 November 2013


Visited a little village outside York called Whixley recently and walked past this rather nice house. Come back tomorrow to see what is in the front garden.

Tuesday, 26 November 2013

A4 at Night

One of the recent highlights of York Illuminated was a repeat of The Great Gathering of the six remaining A4 steam locomotives. The Great Hall of the National Railway Museum had suitably atmospheric lighting and a smoke machine to give the impression of steam. It also had a great sound-scape that really made it sound like the locos were whistling and thundering past.

Monday, 25 November 2013

Vikings at the Tower

Another shot from the recent York Illuminated festival, the Vikings are invading York!

Sunday, 24 November 2013

Short back & sides

The beautifully sculptured yew trees in the grounds of Heslington Hall, now part of York University, have recently had their autumn trim.

Saturday, 23 November 2013

Gone Fishing

This is one of the fishing platforms at Chapmans Pond, the site of a former clay pit. The flooded brick pit on the edge of the city is now stocked with a variety of coarse fish. It also has general access for the public to walk through the adjoining woodland.

Friday, 22 November 2013

Concrete Walls

York University is 50 years old this year. The original construction used a lot of concrete, some of it decorated in typical 60s fashion.

Thursday, 21 November 2013


A view from inside the Pinfold on Tadcaster road near to Knavesmire, an area of common land used for cattle grazing. Pinfold is a Saxon word for an area used to hold straying pigs, sheep  and cattle pending payment of a fine by the owner. They were generally situated near main roads.

Wednesday, 20 November 2013

S is for Sunflowers

These Sunflower seeds outside St Edward the Confessor should provide a good source of winter food for the local birds

Tuesday, 19 November 2013

Christian Grafftti

I couldn't decide if this was Christian graffiti or just a coincidence on the railway bridge.

Monday, 18 November 2013

Normal Family

Anyone need a quirky Christmas present idea?

Sunday, 17 November 2013

Well actually he lives here

Bishopthorpe is home to the Archbishop of York, currently Dr John Sentamu, who lives in a riverside palace. You can see the gatehouse above.

Saturday, 16 November 2013

Who lives here?

Still a bit of colour left in the stone trough bearing the village sign at Bishopthorpe. This village just outside York is home to a nationally recognised figure, and pillar of the community. Any guesses who that might be?

Friday, 15 November 2013

Sam Smiths

There is more than one brewery in Tadcaster so just to even things up here is a sign from a Samuel Smith's pub. There really are white horses here as the brewery still keeps shire horses in these stables to pull the brewery dray, and they deliver around the village every day Mon-Fri. For the moment this horse will have to do but maybe one day I will see the real thing in action.

Thursday, 14 November 2013


I visited Tadcaster recently. I had forgotten it is the brewing capital of Yorkshire. I was reminded as I got out of the car and smelled the malt in the air. This brewery was going full steam as I walked passed.

Wednesday, 13 November 2013

R is for Red Phone Box

This old red phone box is in Colton a tiny village just outside York. I snapped it with my phone as I was delighted to find it has been put to good use as a book exchange.
Taking part in ABC Wednesday

Tuesday, 12 November 2013

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...